Tenerife in HD

“EEEEEEEE it’s here!” I squealed with glee, tearing at the packaging so I could get my hands on the camera encapsulated within. After a minute of struggle it was free and I held it up in my palm for inspection.

This video camera would be my ticket to a new medium and a chance to share experiences where using my Canon camera wasn’t feasible.I could attach it to my helmet, my bike and a headband. Plus it fit in my pocket.

Tenerife In HD is the first video I’ve created with my new Contour Roam 3. There will be more to come on each of the places I visited in the video (fabulous photos and stories of course)!

But wait, dear readers, I need your help!

I watched the video without stabilization and personally find it alright to watch, despite it being a bit jumpy. You can definitely “feel” the car and each step I take.

So I used YouTube’s stabilization to bring some of the jumpy footage in line, but when I watched it I actually ended up feeling quite motion sick. It seems the wide-angle lens of the Contour doesn’t play nice with YouTube’s stabilization efforts and it results in an extreme warping effect on the edges. I really like the floating feeling though.

Which do you prefer?

Do you think it’s worth accepting the warping to remove the bouncing?

If you have any suggestions/advice I’d be super happy to hear it!

2 thoughts on “Tenerife in HD

  1. Tom :) says:

    The stabilized version appears to have some glitches at times. Can you insert the writing after it’s stabilized? Because the writing becomes shaky. Non stabilized seems more “natural”? Beautiful though, I like it šŸ™‚

    • The Doorstep Traveller says:

      Thank you!
      Hm, if I wanted to add text after uploading I think I could only add subtitles through YouTube. If I wanted to add the nice text I’d have to go back to iMovie, but I don’t think there’s a way to download the video from YouTube to play with it in iMovie again.
      It is true though, the non-stabilized video looks like you’re along for the ride. Plus I’ll hopefully learn how to smooth my stride so the steps aren’t so pronounced in video!

Leave a Reply

