International Days Showcase Part 2: Kamloops

International Days 2

Frantically scrabbling at my camera bag I dug out another SD card in something like two seconds flat. Deftly swapping the two cards, I made sure the old one was securely fastened in my bag before turning towards the stage again.

I was not even halfway through the show and I had taken almost 400 pictures. Yes. You read right, 400 photos and not even halfway through. I’m so thankful I knew enough about myself to bring another SD card, because more exciting scenes were coming up and I definitely didn’t want to miss the chance to share them.

But, even a second SD card didn’t avert the forever feared zero mark on my camera. With an hour and a half left to go I found myself once again out of room. Somewhat tearfully I zipped back into the memory and deleted photos as quickly and carefully as I could. It was tight, but I made it in the end. Who knows what amazing shots I deleted in my haste! I took over 800 shots in a little over five hours, although, as it turns out, I was trumped by the student newspaper arts editor who took over 1000 photos in less than five hours.

I will be including links to videos of each act as soon as they are posted to YouTube so be sure to come back at a later date for a more extensive picture of the show. Or you could just find the nearest one to you and mark it on your calendar!

Necklaces worn by the bhangra dancers from India
Necklaces worn by the bhangra dancers from India.

Anyway, here are some more photos from the show. Happy viewing!

Three Indian Dances

Bharata Natyam is actually a really neat dance to watch. The dancers fingers make intricate designs and her feet move as though the ground is on fire.
Bharata Natyam is actually a really neat dance to watch. The dancer’s fingers made intricate designs and her feet moved as though the ground was on fire.

Indian Dancers

Nightlife in Shanghai 

As an opening to the fashion show this dance had modelling stances throughout it.
This was an opening to the fashion show and had modelling stances throughout it.

Night-life in Shangai 3

Fashion Show & Video

Fashion Show
There were so many participants in the fashion show. Unfortunately, that meant I was so busy taking photos I couldn’t write down where all of them were from.

Fashion Show 2Fashion Show 3Fashion Show 7Fashion Show All

Belly Dancing

Belly Dancers
The way these dancers made their bodies flow and vibrate was fascinating.
The belly dancers always amaze me with their ability to shift their hips without moving their shoulders.
Belly dancers always amaze me with their ability to shift their hips without moving their shoulders.

Indian Bollywood Dance

Belly Dancers 8

Chinese Fan Dance & Video

Chinese Fan Dance
As soon as these fans were unfurled I was captivated. Even closed, these fans had loose fabric which formed swirls in the air.

Chinese Fan Dance 5

Chinese Fan Dance 4
The feminine dancers were a beautiful contrast to the seated more masculine fan-bearers.

Chinese Sword Demonstration

Chinese Sword Demonstration 4Chinese Sword Demonstration 3

The crowd gasped as these two went at each other in a "real" match.
As two regally dressed men looked on, the crowd gasped as the two fighters went at each other in a “real” match.
We audience members at the front were told to sit back further.
The audience members at the front, myself among them, were told to sit back further for the match.

Belly Dance & Video

This belly dancer, from Russia, had the audience entranced with her fluidity.
This belly dancer, from Russia, had the audience entranced with her fluidity.

Russian Belly Dancer

Indian Modern Dance

I'm pretty sure everyone in the audience was shocked when this man put on a blindfold and proceeded to dance.
I’m pretty sure everyone in the audience was shocked when this man put on a blindfold and proceeded to dance.
He had a confidence in his step that was unexpected/
He had a confidence in his step that was unexpected.
When he finally thew off the sash it seemed as though he had unleashed his energy. He bound and dashed across the stage.
When he finally thew off the sash, it seemed as though he unleashed his energy. He bound and dashed across the stage as soon as the blindfold touched the floor.

Indian Afro

Latin Dance

Latin Dance
These ladies certainly made it hot on the dance floor.

Raiden Taiko Group: Japanese Drumming

At first I saw geta, or wooden clogs, in these drums, then soldiers were clashing in an open field.
At first I saw geta, or wooden clogs, in these taiko or drums, then soldiers were clashing in an open field.

Japanese Drummers 4

Soran Bushi

Soran Bushi 6
Soran Bushi is a Japanese sea shanty.
Soran Bushi is a Japanese sea shanty and the dance depicts characteristics of fishing and the ocean.
The dance depicts characteristics of fishing and the ocean.
Soran Bushi 5
The commanding shouts and lunges took my breath away. I got to see these guys practice so it was great to see them perform on stage.

Russian Dance

These men and women performed a russian dance dedicated to summer.
The dance is based on round dances.
The dance is based on round dances and my did they twirl and spin gaily.

Irish Dance & Video

I've always wanted to see an Irish dance in person. This was neat. Their feet were like rapid-fire.
I’ve always wanted to see an Irish dance in person. This was neat.
Their feet were like rapid-fire.
Their feet were like rapid-fire.
They also did a number of intricate formations, weaving back and forth and passing each other without hesitation.
They also did a number of intricate formations where they wove back and forth, passed quickly by each other without hesitation.

 

Saudi Sailors & Video

Saudi Sailors
These guys were amusing. As their dance progressed it seemed to get more and more feminine and they laughed harder, so maybe they were joking around with a female dance.

Saudi Sailors

Bhangra Dance & Video

This was arguably the most colourful act in the International Days Showcase.
This was arguably the most colourful act in the International Days Showcase.
And with this photo it was 8:01p.m. and the showcase was coming to a close. The entire show had been broadcast live across the Internet to family and friends around the world.
And with this photo it was 8:01 p.m. and the showcase was coming to a close. The entire show had been broadcast live across the Internet to family and friends around the world.

Leave a Reply

